Looking for a healthy Labrador Retriever puppy in Illinois? You’re in the right place. We reviewed 10 Illinois Lab breeders the way a careful first-time buyer would, by checking parent-dog health tests, breed-club memberships, and what real customers say. Below you’ll find the top picks, a side-by-side comparison, full per-breeder profiles with the public evidence we found, and exactly what to email each breeder before you commit.
We compared 32 Illinois Lab breeders against the Labrador Retriever Club, AKC registry, OFA records, WLRC, Good Dog, and customer reviews, then left out several kennels that market silver or dilute Labs as a color and several with thin public credentials. The 10 breeders below cover Chicago Metro / Northern Illinois, Northern IL / Rockford, Central IL / Peoria, and Southern Illinois.
Not sure the Lab is the right fit? See our guide to the Labrador Retriever breed for size, colors, temperament and health tests.
Quick Stats for Illinois Lab Buyers
Breeders
Price Band
Waitlist
of Chicago
Illinois’s LRC local club is WLRC (Winnebago Labrador Retriever Club, Rockford), the only Illinois club on the LRC local club directory.
📧 Copy-paste: what to email your top 3 breeders (click to expand)
Subject: Inquiry, Lab puppy interest
Hi {Breeder name},
My family is looking for a Labrador Retriever puppy. We’re prioritizing health, temperament, and a breeder we trust. Could you share:
- The planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names so I can look up their OFA records at ofa.org
- Your test results for EIC, CNM, PRA-prcd, and HNPK on both parents (Paw Print Genetics or Optigen reports)
- A copy of your written contract, including the take-back policy and health guarantee
- Whether you have a waitlist and how the application process works
Thank you for your time.
Best,
{Your name}
How Do We Evaluate Labrador Retriever Breeders in Illinois?
We researched each breeder using OFA.org, the LRC parent club, AKC Marketplace + BoM registry, WLRC (Winnebago Labrador Retriever Club, Rockford, the Illinois LRC local club) and LRCP (Labrador Retriever Club of the Potomac, a Maryland LRC local club), Good Dog, breed-club directories, breed forums, and customer reviews. Lab DNA panel = EIC, CNM, PRA-prcd, HNPK plus D-Locus. More on what to look for in our reputable Labrador breeder guide. Each profile table shows what we could and could not find for the standard health-and-trust signals reputable Lab breeders publish. Many items are breeder-reported or not publicly listed, so ask for the documents. The signals cover hip, elbow, eye, and heart certifications, plus DNA tests for inherited diseases like exercise-induced collapse (EIC), centronuclear myopathy (CNM), progressive retinal atrophy (PRA-prcd), and hereditary nasal parakeratosis (HNPK).
| Symbol | What it means | What you should do |
|---|---|---|
| Listed | Found in a public listing (AKC, breed club or directory); we did not check cert numbers | Ask for the cert numbers and check them yourself at ofa.org. |
| 📋 Self-reported | Stated on the breeder’s website but not yet cross-checked | Ask for the actual cert numbers and verify yourself at ofa.org. Real breeders share within 24-48 hours. |
| ❓ Not publicly listed | No public reference found | Not a red flag. Most reputable breeders don’t post test results online. Email and ask. If they refuse or stall, walk away. |
| Below standard | Does not meet this criterion | This is the only one that’s a red flag. Move on to a different breeder. |
Which Labrador Retriever Breeders in Illinois Are on Our List?
Ten breeders made this list. The top three get full reviews with criteria tables. Breeders four through seven get abbreviated profiles. Breeders eight through ten are listed as Verify Direct options.
The 10 Labrador retriever breeders in Illinois are spread across four distinct regions:
If you live in Chicago, the strongest cluster of Illinois Lab breeders sits within 90 minutes (Sommit, Clearwater, Anthem, Empress). Rockford / Quad Cities buyers have Burlingame and Massbach. Peoria / Bloomington buyers have Black Partridge, Ginzel’s, and Timberview. Southern Illinois (Carbondale, Cairo) buyers have Family Oaks.
Quick Decision Guide: Pick Your Illinois Lab by Buyer Type
Five common buyer profiles, mapped to the breeder we’d recommend first.
| TRIPLE-LRC AFFILIATE | → Empress Labradors (Roscoe). AKC BoM + LRC parent + LRCP triple-club affiliation. 4.8 stars / 103 reviews and explicit anti-dilute statement. |
| AKC BoM + WLRC | → Sommit Labradors (Cary). AKC Breeder of Merit. WLRC member with dual conformation + field-trial titled dogs. |
| WESTMINSTER 2026 | → Clearwater Labradors (Tinley Park). Its male Zippo was shown at Westminster 2026 (per the breeder’s site). WLRC member, 28-year program. |
| PER-DOG OFA RESULTS | → Family Oaks Labradors (Harrisburg). Lists OFA results for each breeding dog and Embark results for some dogs on its site (no cert numbers). Cross-state co-breeding with Gallivant (PA), Hope Springs, Schmerge. |
| FIELD / POINTING-LAB | → Burlingame Labradors (Northern IL). 40+ yr AKC + UKC dual-registry program with American Pointing Labrador Association (APLA) field focus. |
Compare Breeders at a Glance
| # | Breeder | Region | OFA 4-Core | DNA Panel | Affiliations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Empress Labradors Roscoe, IL | North IL | Self-reported | Verify direct | AKC BoM + LRC + LRCP |
| 2 | Sommit Labradors Cary, IL | Chicago Metro | Self-reported | Verify direct | AKC BoM + WLRC |
| 3 | Clearwater Labradors Tinley Park, IL | Chicago Metro | Self-reported | Verify direct | Westminster 2026 + WLRC |
| 4 | Anthem Labradors Harvard, IL | North IL | Self-reported | Verify direct | WLRC member |
| 5 | Burlingame Labradors Northern IL | North IL | Self-reported | Verify direct | AKC + UKC + APLA |
| 6 | Black Partridge Kennels Metamora, IL | Central IL | Good/Excellent | Verify direct | APLA + 26-mo guarantee |
| 7 | Family Oaks Labradors Harrisburg, IL | Southern IL | Per-dog OFA | Some dogs (Embark) | Cross-state co-breeding |
| 8 | Ginzel’s Labradors Morton, IL | Central IL | Verify direct | Verify direct | 5.0 / 47 reviews |
| 9 | Massbach Kennels Mt Carroll, IL | North IL | Verify direct | Verify direct | Field/hunt focus |
| 10 | Timberview Labradors Secor, IL | Central IL | Hip + Elbow | Verify direct | 5.0 / 26 reviews |
OFA 4-Core = Hip, Elbow, Eye, Heart. DNA Panel = EIC, CNM, PRA-prcd, HNPK. Tap a breeder name to jump to its full profile below.
1. Empress Labradors, Roscoe, ILHighly Recommended
📍 Roscoe, IL (Northern IL, near Rockford) | 🌐 empresslabradors.com
📅 AKC BoM + LRC parent + LRCP triple-club affiliation
| Criterion | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| AKC Breeder of Merit | Breeder-reported | BoM banner displayed; listed in AKC registry |
| LRC parent club + LRCP | 📋 Self-reported | Both listed as affiliations on empresslabradors.com |
| Tenure | ❓ Not publicly listed | Founding year not stated on the breeder’s site; ask owner |
| Local Pack rating | Listed | 4.8 stars across 103 Google reviews |
| Anti-dilute statement | Listed | Explicit anti-dilute aligned with LRC parent club |
| Written contract | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask to review before deposit |
Empress Labradors holds the strongest credential combination of any Illinois Lab breeder we reviewed: listed AKC Breeder of Merit status, LRC parent club membership, plus LRCP affiliation (a Maryland LRC local club). The 4.8-star / 103-review trust signal places Empress in the upper tier of regional preservation breeders. The kennel publishes an explicit anti-dilute statement aligned with the LRC parent club’s official position.
The Roscoe location (just south of the WI border, 90 minutes from downtown Chicago) makes Empress accessible to all of Northern Illinois, the Madison and Milwaukee corridors, and the Quad Cities region. AKC BoM certification implies AKC-recommended health screenings on every breeding pair. Specific OFA cert numbers are not enumerated on the homepage; ask Empress for the planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names and verify each at ofa.org. Pricing not publicly listed; expect a waitlist at the long end of the typical range.
Specific OFA cert numbers, the marker-by-marker Lab DNA panel report, AKC Breeder of Merit standing, and complete contract terms are not always enumerated on the public site. Ask for the planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names, the actual OFA cert numbers, the full Lab DNA panel including D-Locus, and the written contract terms before any deposit.
2. Sommit Labradors, Cary, ILHighly Recommended
📍 Cary, IL | 🌐 sommit.com
💰 Contact for pricing | ⏳ Waitlist required
| Criterion | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| OFA Quad (hips/elbows/eyes/heart) | 📋 Self-reported | Partial OFA panel claimed; ask for full cert details |
| Lab DNA panel (EIC/CNM/PRA-prcd/HNPK + D-Locus) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask for full panel reports |
| AKC + LRC affiliations | Listed | WLRC breeder profile on winnebagolrc.com (/sommit-labradors-north and /sommit-labradors-south) |
| Tenure | ❓ Not publicly listed | Founding year not stated on the breeder’s site; ask owner |
| Hard requirements (contract/take-back/visits/home-raised) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask before deposit |
| State residency + photo source | Listed | State-resident; image as attached above |
Sommit Labradors is a long-running program, though its site does not state a founding year. AKC Breeder of Merit listed on AKC Marketplace, and both owners list Winnebago Labrador Retriever Club (WLRC) membership on the kennel site. The program produces dual-line dogs across Champion (CH), Field Champion (FC), obedience, and service-dog venues, a 4-venue working profile uncommon at small-program scale.
The Cary location places Sommit in the northwest Chicago suburbs (45 minutes from O’Hare, 90 minutes from downtown Chicago). AKC BoM standard implies AKC-recommended health screenings; specific OFA cert numbers are not enumerated. Ask Sommit for the planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names. Pricing not publicly listed.
Specific OFA cert numbers, the marker-by-marker Lab DNA panel report, AKC Breeder of Merit standing, and complete contract terms are not always enumerated on the public site. Ask for the planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names, the actual OFA cert numbers, the full Lab DNA panel including D-Locus, and the written contract terms before any deposit.
3. Clearwater Labradors, Tinley Park, ILHighly Recommended
📍 Tinley Park, IL | 🌐 cwlabradors.com
💰 Contact for pricing | ⏳ Waitlist required
| Criterion | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| OFA Quad (hips/elbows/eyes/heart) | 📋 Self-reported | Partial OFA panel claimed; ask for full cert details |
| Lab DNA panel (EIC/CNM/PRA-prcd/HNPK + D-Locus) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask for full panel reports |
| AKC + LRC affiliations | Listed | WLRC breeder profile on winnebagolrc.com (/clearwater-labradors) |
| Tenure | 📋 Self-reported | 28+ years (per site) |
| Hard requirements (contract/take-back/visits/home-raised) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask before deposit |
| State residency + photo source | Listed | State-resident; image as attached above |
Clearwater Labradors’ site features a male named Zippo who was shown at Westminster 2026, the best-known dog show in the United States. The site does not give a Westminster result, so ask the breeder for Zippo’s show record and titles. The kennel is a Winnebago Labrador Retriever Club (WLRC) member with 28 years of program tenure.
The Tinley Park location is southwest Chicago Metro, about 30 minutes from downtown. Zippo’s Westminster 2026 appearance is a notable conformation credential among the breeders we reviewed. WLRC membership confirms regional preservation-club alignment. Specific OFA cert numbers are not enumerated; verify directly. Pricing not publicly listed; expect a waitlist at the long end of the typical range.
Specific OFA cert numbers, the marker-by-marker Lab DNA panel report, AKC Breeder of Merit standing, and complete contract terms are not always enumerated on the public site. Ask for the planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names, the actual OFA cert numbers, the full Lab DNA panel including D-Locus, and the written contract terms before any deposit.
4. Anthem Labradors, Harvard, ILWell-Regarded
📍 Harvard, IL | 🌐 anthemlabradors.net
💰 Contact for pricing | ⏳ Waitlist required
| Criterion | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| OFA Quad (hips/elbows/eyes/heart) | 📋 Self-reported | Partial OFA panel claimed; ask for full cert details |
| Lab DNA panel (EIC/CNM/PRA-prcd/HNPK + D-Locus) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask for full panel reports |
| AKC + LRC affiliations | Listed | WLRC breeder profile on winnebagolrc.com (/anthem-labradors) |
| Tenure | ❓ Not publicly listed | Founding year not stated on the breeder’s site; ask owner |
| Hard requirements (contract/take-back/visits/home-raised) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask before deposit |
| State residency + photo source | Listed | State-resident; image as attached above |
Anthem Labradors does not state a founding year on its site; ask the owner how long the program has run. The kennel is a WLRC member based in Harvard (far Northern IL near the Wisconsin border). Multi-discipline title production includes conformation, obedience, hunt-test, and field-trial venues. Specific OFA cert numbers are not enumerated; ask directly. Pricing not publicly listed.
Specific OFA cert numbers, the marker-by-marker Lab DNA panel report, AKC Breeder of Merit standing, and complete contract terms are not always enumerated on the public site. Ask for the planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names, the actual OFA cert numbers, the full Lab DNA panel including D-Locus, and the written contract terms before any deposit.
5. Burlingame Labradors, Northern ILWell-Regarded
📍 Northern IL | 🌐 burlingamepointinglabs.com
💰 Contact for pricing | ⏳ Waitlist required
| Criterion | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| OFA Quad (hips/elbows/eyes/heart) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask for sire + dam OFA cert numbers |
| Lab DNA panel (EIC/CNM/PRA-prcd/HNPK + D-Locus) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask for full panel reports |
| AKC + LRC affiliations | 📋 Self-reported | Ask about AKC registration and LRC affiliate membership |
| Tenure | 📋 Self-reported | 40+ years (per site) |
| Hard requirements (contract/take-back/visits/home-raised) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask before deposit |
| State residency + photo source | Listed | State-resident; image as attached above |
Burlingame Labradors is run by Todd and Debbie Bex with 40+ years of program tenure. The program holds AKC plus UKC dual-registry status plus American Pointing Labrador Association (APLA) membership, a rare credential indicating breeding for natural-pointing instinct in upland-bird working Labradors. APLA membership is selective and tied to dogs that demonstrate natural pointing behavior in field testing. The dual-registry approach (AKC + UKC) signals depth of credentialing across multiple parallel registries.
Specific OFA cert numbers, the marker-by-marker Lab DNA panel report, AKC Breeder of Merit standing, and complete contract terms are not always enumerated on the public site. Ask for the planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names, the actual OFA cert numbers, the full Lab DNA panel including D-Locus, and the written contract terms before any deposit.
6. Black Partridge Kennels, Metamora, ILWell-Regarded
📍 Metamora, IL | 🌐 blackpartridgekennels.com
💰 Contact for pricing | ⏳ Waitlist required
| Criterion | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| OFA Quad (hips/elbows/eyes/heart) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask for sire + dam OFA cert numbers |
| Lab DNA panel (EIC/CNM/PRA-prcd/HNPK + D-Locus) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask for full panel reports |
| AKC + LRC affiliations | 📋 Self-reported | Ask about AKC registration and LRC affiliate membership |
| Tenure | 📋 Self-reported | 30+ years (per site) |
| Hard requirements (contract/take-back/visits/home-raised) | 📋 Self-reported | Contract or health guarantee mentioned; ask for written terms |
| State residency + photo source | Listed | State-resident; image as attached above |
Black Partridge Kennels operates from Metamora in Central Illinois near Peoria, with 30 years of program tenure. The kennel publishes OFA Good or Excellent hip ratings on breeding stock plus a 26-month health guarantee, longer than the standard 12-month industry baseline. American Pointing Labrador Association (APLA) membership for field-line pointing-Lab work. Litter cadence is on the higher side (8-10 litters/year) which is a soft volume flag worth discussing with the breeder before deposit.
Best for Central Illinois field/hunt buyers seeking APLA pointing-Lab credentials with above-baseline 26-month guarantee.
7. Family Oaks Labradors, Harrisburg, ILWell-Regarded
📍 Harrisburg, IL | 🌐 familyoakslabradors.com
💰 Contact for pricing | ⏳ Waitlist required
| Criterion | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| OFA Quad (hips/elbows/eyes/heart) | 📋 Self-reported | Partial OFA panel claimed; ask for full cert details |
| Lab DNA panel (EIC/CNM/PRA-prcd/HNPK + D-Locus) | 📋 Self-reported | DNA panel mentioned; ask for full marker-by-marker report |
| AKC + LRC affiliations | 📋 Self-reported | Ask about AKC registration and LRC affiliate membership |
| Tenure | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask owner |
| Hard requirements (contract/take-back/visits/home-raised) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask before deposit |
| State residency + photo source | Listed | State-resident; image as attached above |
Family Oaks Labradors lists OFA results for each breeding dog on its site, plus Embark DNA results for some dogs, though without OFA cert numbers or report links, so ask for those and verify them at ofa.org. The program runs cross-state co-breeding partnerships with Gallivant Labradors (Pennsylvania), Hope Springs, and Schmerge, a multi-state preservation-breeder network unusual at small-program scale. The Harrisburg location serves Southern Illinois, Western Kentucky, and Eastern Missouri buyers who want per-dog OFA results listed up front.
Specific OFA cert numbers, the marker-by-marker Lab DNA panel report, AKC Breeder of Merit standing, and complete contract terms are not always enumerated on the public site. Ask for the planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names, the actual OFA cert numbers, the full Lab DNA panel including D-Locus, and the written contract terms before any deposit.
8. Ginzel’s Labradors, Morton, ILVerify Direct
📍 Morton, IL | 🌐 ginzelsretrievers.com
💰 Contact for pricing | ⏳ Waitlist required
| Criterion | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| OFA Quad (hips/elbows/eyes/heart) | 📋 Self-reported | Partial OFA panel claimed; ask for full cert details |
| Lab DNA panel (EIC/CNM/PRA-prcd/HNPK + D-Locus) | 📋 Self-reported | DNA panel mentioned; ask for full marker-by-marker report |
| AKC + LRC affiliations | 📋 Self-reported | Ask about AKC registration and LRC affiliate membership |
| Tenure | 📋 Self-reported | 5+ years (per site) |
| Hard requirements (contract/take-back/visits/home-raised) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask before deposit |
| State residency + photo source | Listed | State-resident; image as attached above |
Ginzel’s Labradors is a newer program (5+ years) in Morton in Central Illinois near Peoria. The kennel holds 5.0 stars across 47 Google reviews, strong customer trust signal at the local level. AKC registered. The newer program tenure is the single factor keeping Ginzel’s at the Verify Direct tier rather than Well-Regarded. Specific OFA cert numbers and DNA panel scope are not enumerated; ask Ginzel’s for the planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names and verify at ofa.org.
Specific OFA cert numbers, the marker-by-marker Lab DNA panel report, AKC Breeder of Merit standing, and complete contract terms are not always enumerated on the public site. Ask for the planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names, the actual OFA cert numbers, the full Lab DNA panel including D-Locus, and the written contract terms before any deposit.
9. Massbach Kennels, Mt Carroll, ILVerify Direct
📍 Mt Carroll, IL | 🌐 massbachkennels.com
💰 Contact for pricing | ⏳ Waitlist required
| Criterion | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| OFA Quad (hips/elbows/eyes/heart) | 📋 Self-reported | Partial OFA panel claimed; ask for full cert details |
| Lab DNA panel (EIC/CNM/PRA-prcd/HNPK + D-Locus) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask for full panel reports |
| AKC + LRC affiliations | 📋 Self-reported | Ask about AKC registration and LRC affiliate membership |
| Tenure | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask owner |
| Hard requirements (contract/take-back/visits/home-raised) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask before deposit |
| State residency + photo source | Listed | State-resident; image as attached above |
Massbach Kennels in Mt Carroll (Northern Illinois) operates a field/hunt-focused Labrador program with championship pedigree marketing claims. The 50-state shipping volume is a soft commercial-pattern flag that buyers should ask about, high shipping volume can indicate either a mature waitlist program or a higher-output operation. Specific OFA cert numbers and titled-dog evidence need direct inquiry.
Specific OFA cert numbers, the marker-by-marker Lab DNA panel report, AKC Breeder of Merit standing, and complete contract terms are not always enumerated on the public site. Ask for the planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names, the actual OFA cert numbers, the full Lab DNA panel including D-Locus, and the written contract terms before any deposit.
10. Timberview Labradors, Secor, ILVerify Direct
📍 Secor, IL | 🌐 timberviewlabradors.net
💰 Contact for pricing | ⏳ Waitlist required
| Criterion | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| OFA Quad (hips/elbows/eyes/heart) | 📋 Self-reported | Partial OFA panel claimed; ask for full cert details |
| Lab DNA panel (EIC/CNM/PRA-prcd/HNPK + D-Locus) | 📋 Self-reported | DNA panel mentioned; ask for full marker-by-marker report |
| AKC + LRC affiliations | 📋 Self-reported | Ask about AKC registration and LRC affiliate membership |
| Tenure | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask owner |
| Hard requirements (contract/take-back/visits/home-raised) | ❓ Not publicly listed | Ask before deposit |
| State residency + photo source | Listed | State-resident; image as attached above |
Timberview Labradors in Secor (Central Illinois, Woodford County) is a yellow-only specialty program with 5.0 stars across 26 Google reviews. OFA hip and elbow testing on breeding stock per home page. Specific OFA cert numbers, DNA panel scope, and breeding stock details are not enumerated; ask Timberview for the planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names. Yellow-Lab specialty is a sub-color within the AKC standard.
Specific OFA cert numbers, the marker-by-marker Lab DNA panel report, AKC Breeder of Merit standing, and complete contract terms are not always enumerated on the public site. Ask for the planned sire and dam’s AKC registered names, the actual OFA cert numbers, the full Lab DNA panel including D-Locus, and the written contract terms before any deposit.
How Do You Verify a Illinois Labrador Breeder Yourself?
Illinois verification runs primarily through the LRC parent club + AKC Breeder of Merit registry + AKC Marketplace + OFA database.
Your Next Step (about 10 minutes per breeder)
1. Pull the parent dogs’ OFA records at ofa.org/advanced-search. 2. Verify AKC Breeder of Merit registry. Cross-check each breeder’s BoM status directly on the AKC Breeder of Merit list at akc.org before any deposit. 3. Cross-check LRC parent club standing. Illinois breeders are typically connected through the LRC parent club at thelabradorclub.com (the AKC parent club for Labradors). Illinois has one LRC local club, the Winnebago Labrador Retriever Club (WLRC) in Rockford, an AKC-licensed club listed on the LRC local club directory; ask breeders about membership there too. 4. Verify Illinois residency. Cross-check the area codes and ZIP codes on the breeder’s contact information against Illinois ranges. 5. Confirm anti-dilute alignment. The LRC parent club does not recognize silver, charcoal, or champagne Labradors. Ask for the D-Locus DNA test report on any Labrador advertised in unusual coat shades. 6. Read the written contract before deposit.Frequently Asked Questions About Labrador Retriever Breeders in Illinois
How much do Labrador retriever puppies cost in Illinois in 2026?
$1.8K-$3.5K per puppy. Tier 1 programs with strong institutional standing (documented health protocols, multi-decade tenure, English specialty lines, or AKC Breeder of Merit recognition) typically price toward the upper end. Mid-tier and Verify-Direct kennels often price slightly lower.
What is the typical waitlist for a Labrador puppy in Illinois?
6 to 12 months at Tier 1 programs. The most documented health-tested programs and English specialty kennels tend to run the longest pipelines. Mid-tier kennels typically run shorter 2-6 month waitlists.
Does Illinois have its own Labrador Retriever Club?
Yes. The Winnebago Labrador Retriever Club (WLRC) in Rockford is an AKC-licensed Labrador club and the only Illinois club on the LRC local club directory. Illinois breeders also rely on the LRC parent club at thelabradorclub.com, the AKC Breeder of Merit registry, and AKC Marketplace. Regional retriever trial clubs may also be useful for field-line and hunt-test buyers.
Are silver, charcoal, or champagne Labs purebred AKC?
The Labrador Retriever Club (the AKC parent club) does not recognize silver, charcoal, or champagne as standard Labrador colors. AKC currently permits dilute-color Labs to be registered under the chocolate color designation, which is a controversial practice within the parent-club community. Most reputable Lab breeders adhere to the parent-club color standard (black, yellow including fox red and pale yellow, and chocolate within recognized shade ranges).
What is the difference between English and American Labradors?
English Labradors are conformation-line dogs, blockier and shorter-legged with calmer family temperament. American Labradors are field-trial-line dogs with leaner builds and higher prey drive. Most Illinois breeders run dual-purpose programs that pull from both sides; specifically ask each breeder where their planned sire and dam fall on the conformation-versus-field spectrum.
Where Can You Find More Illinois Labrador Breeders?
The LRC parent club at thelabradorclub.com, the AKC Marketplace, the AKC Breeder of Merit registry, and Good Dog are the primary verification channels for Illinois. For field-line and hunt-test buyers, the regional retriever trial clubs are useful supplements. Most reputable Illinois Lab breeders also share OFA cert numbers and parent-dog AKC registered names on request within 24-48 hours of inquiry.
Where Should You Look for Labrador Breeders in States Adjacent to IL?
- Wisconsin, 1-3 hour drive
- Indiana, 1-3 hour drive
- Iowa, 2-4 hour drive
- Missouri, 3-5 hour drive
- Kentucky, 4-6 hour drive
Final Thoughts: Picking the Right Labrador Breeder in Illinois
The 10 Labrador retriever breeders in Illinois on this list were chosen on club affiliations, AKC credentials, tenure, and buyer reviews. OFA results, full Lab DNA panels (EIC, CNM, PRA-prcd, HNPK, D-Locus), and written contract terms are not publicly documented for every breeder, so confirm them before any deposit. Empress Labradors (AKC Breeder of Merit, 4.8 stars across 103 reviews) tops our Illinois list. Sommit Labradors (AKC Breeder of Merit, WLRC breeder profile) and Clearwater Labradors (WLRC breeder profile, male shown at Westminster 2026) round out the top tier.
If you are picking from this list, prioritize the credentials in this order: deepest documented health protocol first (OFA Quad + full DNA panel + multi-decade tenure), then individual breeder credentials (English specialty, dilute-free policy, AKC Breeder of Merit recognition, multi-year health guarantee, champion bloodlines), then per-dog OFA cert numbers and written contract transparency.
The credential floor is the same regardless: every reputable Illinois Lab breeder will give you the parent dogs’ AKC registered names, OFA cert numbers, and the full Lab DNA panel results without resistance. If they will not, that is your answer.
